Farm Beginnings in Other Regions: FB Collaborative

Besides Minnesota, Farm Beginnings is now offered to people in: Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, Missouri, Kentucky, Indiana, New York and Maine.

The Land Stewardship Project is a member of the Farm Beginnings® Collaborative. The Farm Beginnings Collaborative is a national alliance of independent regional groups of farmers and farmer-training support organizations working together to promote Farm Beginnings, a farmer training model that is farmer led, community based and rooted in sustainable principles.

Farm Beginnings was started by experienced farmers, and to this day farmers participate at all levels, as steering committee members, classroom presenters, on-farm presenters, and on-farm mentors. Farm Beginnings offers new and beginning farmers a means to establish strong relationships with local farmers, businesses, resources, and consumers within a community network that supports and strengthens the local food and farming system. Farm Beginnings programs support sustainable farming by promoting farming practices that are ecologically sound, economically viable, socially just, and achievable for new and beginning farmers.

If you live in one of these regions and are interested in the program, contact one of the following people:

Central Illinois

Central Illinois Farm Beginnings

• Terra Brockman
The Land Connection
PO Box 3332
Bloomington, IL 61702
Phone: 217-840-2128
E-mail: terra@thelandconnection.org
Website: www.thelandconnection.org

Northern Illinois & Southern Wisconsin

Stateline Farm Beginnings

• Tom Spaulding/Jenny Meyer/Sheri Doyel
Angelic Organics Learning Center
1547 Rockton Rd.
Caledonia IL, 61011
Phone: 815-389-8455
E-mail: tom@learngrowconnect.org; sheri@learngrowconnect.org; jenny@learngrowconnect.org
Website: www.learngrowconnect.org

Southern Illinois, Southeast Missouri, Southwest Indiana & Northeast Kentucky

Southern Illinois Farm Beginnings

• Dayna Conner/Devin Brown
Food Works
PO Box 3855
Carbondale, IL 62902
Phone: 618-319-0542
E-mail: dayna@eatsouthernillinois.org

Minnesota, Northeast Iowa, Western Wisconsin

Farm Beginnings Land Stewardship Project
Driftless Region—SE Minnesota, W Wisconsin, NE Iowa

• Karen Stettler/Parker Forsell/Dorian Eder/Karen Benson - Land Stewardship Project
P.O. Box 130
Lewiston, MN 55952
Phone: 507-523-3366
E-mail: stettler@landstewardshipproject.org; parker@landstewardshipproject.org; aimee@landstewardshipproject.org; lspse@landstewardshipproject.org
Website: www.farmbeginnings.org

Land Stewardship Project Prairie Region—W Minnesota, SE South Dakota, NW Iowa

• Amy Bacigalupo/Nick Olson/Richard Ness - Land Stewardship Project
301 State Rd., Suite 2
Montevideo, MN 56265
Phone: 320-269-2105
E-mail: amyb@landstewardshipproject.org; nicko@landstewardshipproject.org; rness@landstewardshipproject.org
Website: www.farmbeginnings.org

Northwest Wisconsin, Northeast Minnesota

Lake Superior Farm Beginnings

• Cree Bradley
2995 Hwy. 3
Two Harbors, MN 55616
Phone: 218-834-0846
E-mail: creeb@landstewardshipproject.org

Eastern & Western Nebraska

Nebraska Farm Beginnings

• Gary Lesoing
Nemaha Cty. Extension
Nebraska SARE Coordinator
1842 N. Street - Courthouse
Auburn, NE 68305-2395
Phone: 402-274-4755
E-mail: glesoing2@unl.edu

• William Powers
Executive Director, Nebraska Sustainable Agriculture Society
414 County Road 15
Ceresco, NE 68017
Phone: 402-525-7794
E-mail: healthyfarms@gmail.com

New York

Hudson Valley Farm Beginnings

• Rachel Schneider
Hawthorne Valley Farm
327 Route 21C
Ghent (Harlemville), New York 12075
Phone: 518-672-7500 x 105
E-mail: rachel@hawthornevalleyfarm.org
Website: www.hawthornevalleyfarm.org

North Dakota

• Annie Carlson
FARRMS
301 5th Ave SE
Medina, ND 58467
Phone: 701-486-3569
Fax: 701-486-3580
E-mail: info@farrms.org; acarlson@farrms.org
Website: www.farrms.org

South Dakota

• Frank James/Heidi Kolbeck-Urlacher - Dakota Rural Action
Mailing Address: PO Box 549
Brookings, SD 57006
Street Address: 910 4th St.
Old Sanctuary Building, Suite A
Brookings, SD 57006
Phone: 605-697-5204
Fax: 605-697-6230
E-mail: heidiku@dakotarural.org; fejames@dakotarural.org
Website: www.dakotarural.org