# **MN Farmers to Rep. Peterson:** Protect Working Lands Conservation in the Farm Bill

The Honorable Collin Peterson 2204 Rayburn Office Building | United States House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515



Dear Representative Peterson,

We as farmers and ranchers across Minnesota believe that our federal farm policy should support our work to build soil health and conservation practices on our farms, especially as we are faced with a challenging farm economy. You are a national leader on the Farm Bill and we look to you to achieve a better Farm Bill that works for farmers and the land.

Both the House and Senate have passed versions of the Farm Bill that must now be reconciled. As an expected member of the conference committee, we ask that you do the two following things:

### 1. Support protecting the Conservation Stewardship Program as a stand-alone program with improvements, and work to maintain its current annual enrollment of 10 million new acres a year.

Minnesota farmers are leaders in the nation in enrolled acres in the Conservation Stewardship Program (CSP). The combined efforts of more than 4,300 farmers and ranchers in our state currently enrolled in CSP-totaling over 3.3 million acres and representing over 13% of Minnesota's farmland—are generating positive outcomes for Minnesota's soil, water and wildlife habitat. These outcomes benefit every Minnesotan. This provision is in the Senate bill.

## 2. Work to fix the federal crop insurance program by allowing farmers to use sound and voluntary "Good Farming Practices" like cover cropping on their farms without risk of losing their crop insurance coverage.

Incorporating cover crops into their operations is a practice more and more farmers are utilizing that has a multitude of benefits when it comes to soil health, nutrient and water retention, and long-term productivity. Federal crop insurance is also an important risk management tool for farmers, but crop insurance in its current form can deter the practice of cover cropping because of how it will impact their insurance policy. Crop insurance should encourage all conservation farming practices that mitigate risk, not act as barrier. This provision is in the Senate version of the bill.

Your leadership on the Farm Bill in past years has delivered results that have benefited family farmers and the land. Strong conservation policy in the 2018 Farm Bill is critical to providing farmers and ranchers with the tools and support needed to protect the land and water necessary for their livelihoods. It is also key to a good quality of life for all Minnesotans. We ask you to work in conference committee to support and advance strong conservation policy in the 2018 Farm Bill.

#### Sincerely, The 165 undersigned farmers & ranchers of Minnesota

Cindy & Terry Hamilton, Adams Steve Pearson, Aitkin Eric Kreidermacher, Altura Michelle Torgrimson, Ashby Denise Zabinski, Ashby Tim Stensland Radger Brvan Simon, Barrett Alan Kaiser, Belgrade Heidi Morlock, Belle Plaine Paul Kvale Remidii Matt Alford, Blue Earth Jim Erdahl, Blue Earth Dennis Biniek, Bowlus Troy Thompson, Brewster Mike Rooney Brooten Ted May, Browerville David Rach. Browerville Bonnie Haugen, Canton Charles Kohmeyer, Chatfield Annette Skrukrud, Chatfield Megan Falvey, Clarkfield Glenn Gelhar, Clarkfield Dennis Compton, Dassel Bruce West Dilworth Peter Little, Dindas Elizabeth Olson, Dodge Center Brad Giese, Donnell

Sue & Charles Henry Dover Clinton Farlee, Dupree Maurice Schimek, Easton Bill Schrader, Easton Larry Schneeberger, Elbow Lake Roherta Muellerleile Elvsian Scott Marpe, Emmons Darvin Rocholl, Erhard Bill Hein, Faribault Nick Danielson, Farwell John Butenhoff, Fergus Falls Hannah Bernhardt, Finlayson Jason Misik, Finlayson Fric Sannerud, Foley Ted Winter Fulda Charles Schmidt, Garden City Kathryn Oldenburg, Garfield Darrel Mosel, Gavlord Mark Berle Gibbon Loretta & Martin Jaus, Gibbon Kurt Schulz, Glencoe Bill Gorman, Goodhue Duane Hoeft, Grand Meadow Dave Schaffer Hastings Evan Schmeling, Havfield Kally Goschke Skelley, Henderson Sally Reinitz, Henderson

Scott Vizecky, Hendricks Harold Freyholtz, Hewitt Diane Crane, Houston Michael Gilles, Houston Laura Frerichs, Hutchinson Irene Genelin Hutchinson Dave Baker, Isanti Dennis Kowalik, Isanti Matthew Tentis, Kellogg Melissa Driscoll, Kenvon James Van Der Pol, Kerkhoven Charles Skemp, La Crescent Chris Hitzeman. Lake Andes Pan Deutz, Lake Benton Steven Schwen Lake City Shawn Simonson, Lake Crystal Rvan Batalden, Lamberton Jane Peck, Lanesboro Timothy Nuessmeier, Le Sueur Jennifer Rupprecht, Lewiston Linda Ahrndt, Litchfield Joan & Nick Olson, Litchfield Bruce Marquette Little Falls Doug Ploof, Little Falls Carol Schmidt, Little Falls Arlene Brinkmann, Long Prairie

Tom Grav, Long Prairie Paul Aukes, Luverne Gerald Peter, Mabel James Connor, Madison Carmen Fernholz, Madison August Goetti Mankato Jerry Cooper, Marlette Rod VanderZiel, Marshall Marvin Boike, Mavnard Candace Marx Mazenna Robert Thompson, Mcintosh James Myhre, Minneota Elizabeth Oness, Minnesota City Ernie Broekemeier, Morgan Terry Dyhdahl Morris Kathy Zeman, Nerstrand Jerry & Nancy Ackermann, Lakefield Carolinevan Schaik, New Hartford Frank Bisek, New Prague Susan Griebel New Ulm Linda Dahl. Northfield Angela Smith, Oronoco Karen & Timothy Burdick, Ortonville Dean Richards, St. Charles Mike Souhrada, Ostrander Duane Goeden, Park Ranids Linda Liestman, Pavnesville Richard Mueller, Pavnesville Michael Kaminski, Perham

#### landstewardshipproject.org

Tom Pyffemen Pine Island Lisa Smith, Pipestone Thomas Hoekstra, Plainview Paul Krueger, Prior Lake Randal Freiborg, Renville Mike Steinfeldt Riddeway Loren Donovan, Rochester Wesley Otto, Roseau Don Hannaman, Rosemount Leann lacobson Rushford Jerome Graff, Sanborn Stanley Kuehn, Sanborn Beth Everett, Scottsbluff Lorin Helget, Sleepv Eve Randy Krzmarzick, Sleeny Eve Madonna & David Sellner, Sleepv Eve Gerald Butenhoff, Winona Paul Conklin, Solway Dayna Burtness, Spring Grove Myron Sylling, Spring Grove Vincent Ready, St Charles Mike Martinson, St. Charles Bob Christie, St. Charles Tom Nuessmeier St. Peter Mary Jo Forbord, Starbuck Rod Morlock, Stewartville Brian Axdahl, Stillwater

Brian Avdahl, Stillwater John Mueller, Stillwater Guy Wolf, Stoddard Steven Fellbaum, Sw Jay Jones, Trail City Tom Hunter Wahasha Paul Sobocinski, Wabasso Chris Von Holten, Walnut Scott Pahlen, Warroad Betsy Allister & Andrew Ehrmann. Waterford Township Todd Lemke, Watkins Anna Racer, Webster Peter Skold, Webster Beth Slocum Welch Helen Davis, Winona Doug Nopar, Winona Dean Nordaune Woodlake Paul Hohensee, Worthington Alan Langseth, Worthington Janaki Fisher-Merritt, Wrenshall Joe Austin, Wukoff Rodney Vorwerk Wykoff