From the Board

Leadership Change: A Joint Statement from the Boards of LSP & LSAF

With member support and passion

for stewardship and justice on the

land, we have created a rock-solid

foundation that makes our work

these challenging times.

powerful and effective, even during

Tess Anna Glover resigned as the executive director of the Land Stewardship Project and the Land Stewardship Action Fund on Feb. 12. As board members of these two organizations, we are working closely with staff through this transition.

During the past few months, the LSP and LSAF boards and staff have reached out to countless members, funders, and partners to share updates, renew relationships, and strengthen our shared commitment to thriving rural communities. We have also deepened our connections between

boards and staff, as well as across departments, through numerous opportunities for conversation and collaboration.

In mid-May, Julie Emery came on board as interim executive director (*see sidebar*). Moving forward, we envision a deep dive with staff, board, and members to consider the most effective long-term leadership structure for this organization.

During this time of transition, our commitment to you as members is to continue to fulfill our mission — fostering an ethic of stewardship for farmland, promoting sustainable agriculture, and developing healthy communities. As members of the LSP and LSAF boards, we have the highest confi-

dence in the staff of these two organizations. Together, we are committed to working with members to continue to build our nationally-recognized work on soil health, beginning farmer training, and land access. In addition, our organizers are working with members on the state and federal level "fighting the worst

while advancing the best," including pushing ground-breaking soil health policy during the 2021 session of the Minnesota Legislature (page 8). And legislators endorsed by the Land Stewardship Action Fund in the 2020 election are continuing to

work to advance policies that are good for people and the land.

If you have any questions on this transition or LSP and LSAF's work in general, feel free to connect with any of us using the contact information in the sidebar below. You are also welcome to contact Brian DeVore at bdevore@landstewardshipproject. org or 612-816-9342.

With member support and a passion for stewardship and justice on the land, we have created a rock-solid foundation that makes our work powerful and effective, even during these challenging times. Thanks to you, the roots of these organizations have the kind of depth required to remain resilient, no

Julie Emery Named Interim ED

Tulie Emery has been named interim executive director of the Land Stewardship Project, as well as its sister political advocacy organization, the Land Stewardship Action Fund. Emery has a deep background in community

organizing and extensive experience integrating policy and electoral organizing. She most recently worked as the outreach director for Wisconsin Voices. She also served as executive director of Virginia Civic Engagement Table and



Julie Emery

was political director of Service Employees International Union Virginia 512.

Emery grew up on a Minnesota farm and has a bachelor's degree in business administration and computer science from Wichita State University.

After the resignation of executive director Jess Anna Glover in February, LSP board member Dan McGrath served in that capacity on a temporary basis.

matter our changing daily circumstances. We are excited to strengthen this resilience and continue to take bold action together toward a sustainable future for all.

 the members of the LSP & LSAF boards

Contact Information for LSP & LSAF Board Members

- → Deborah Allan, Saint Paul, Minn., 651-270-4620, dallan@umn.edu
- → Laura Frerichs, Hutchinson, Minn., 320-296-1569, lgfrerichs@gmail.com
- → Rachel Henderson, Menomonie, Wis., 612-280-2438, henderson.r@gmail.com
- → Laurie Driessen, Canby, Minn., 507-530-4207, lkdriessen@gmail.com
- → Andrew Ehrmann, Northfield, Minn.,

- 970-389-5416, andrew.ehrmann@gmail.com
- → Jon Jovaag, Austin, Minn., 507-460-8144
- → Dan McGrath, Saint Paul, Minn., 651-261-2816, danmcgrath1@gmail.com
- → Darrel Mosel, Gaylord, Minn., 507-381-3776, darrelmosel@gmail.com
- → Linda Peck, Saint Cloud, Minn. 320-685-3365
- → Paula Williams, Barnum, Minn., 218-428-

- 2862, paulajwilliams@gmail.com
- → Beth Slocum, Welch, Minn., 612-360-5955, bethslocum004@gmail.com
- → Anna Racer, Webster, Minn., 612-816-8292, anna.racer@gmail.com
- → Sylvia Luetmer, Alexandria, Minn., 320-766-6084, sluetmer@gmail.com
- → Kristin Tombers, Minneapolis, Minn., 612-963-1445

The Land Stewardship Letter No. 1, 2021